Resolutions?

English: Two New Year's Resolutions postcards

English: Two New Year’s Resolutions postcards (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

New Year’s resolutions have a bad reputation. Frequently unrealistic, made with great enthusiasm, they’re often broken just as enthusiastically. In fact, those are the reasons I haven’t made any in some years. This year, though, I think I’ll make some modest resolves.

First, I plan on getting rid of clutter from my life. I’ve got far too much stuff in my life, and it’s taking way too many resources to maintain them. I figure if I get rid of just a little every day, then by the end of the year there won’t be nearly as much clutter as there is now.

That’s really the big one. I’ve set my personal 2013 Reading Challenge on Goodreads for 28 books, which should be pretty easy to do. I’m going to focus on getting my graduate school application done, and take some classes toward completing my MLS degree so I can keep my state certification up, but that’s about it.

As for the more traditional resolutions, I do plan on losing weight, but I’m not going to do anything special to do so. Just try to eat more sensibly and get some more exercise. That should help get some health issues under control.

That’s it, really. One major project and a few minor ones. Completing those should give me a sense of accomplishment that will help me accomplish more things in the future.

Leave a Reply

