Never Been There, But I Love It!

I was thinking today I should make a list of favorite places I’ve been in my life. Then I got to thinking, everyone makes lists of favorite places they’ve been. I want to do something different. I want to make a list of favorite places I’ve never been. So, in no particular order, here’s my list:

  • ImageTokyo: I’m fascinated by all things Japanese: from the people, to the arts. I doubt I’ll ever get there, but I’d love to visit Tokyo, even if it’s just for a little while. Ideally, I’d like to stay a year or more and really try to get into Japanese culture, but I’d settle for just a weekend.
  • Rio de Janeiro: Brazil is another country that fascinates me. Rio has such extremes of wealth and poverty, and such a mix of culture that it would be a very interesting place to spend some time. Besides, the weather’s got to be better than it is here!
  • Montreal: A little closer to home, I’d love to see Montreal. I’ve been told it’s the most Parisian city outside of Paris itself. Besides, Canadian French is a wonderful language, and I’ve never (yet) met a French Canadian I haven’t liked.
  • Berlin: The home of so much German history and culture, I really want to see Berlin. The new restoration of the Reichstag building is quite simply stunning. Besides, Berlin is supposed to have a fantastic gay community.
  • Haifa: I’m a major Judeophile, and I’ve always wanted to go to Israel, but not necessarily to Jerusalem. Tel Aviv might be too contemporary, but Haifa looks just about right. The Bahá’í gardens in particular are very beautiful.
  • Uluru: What can I say. Uluru (formerly Ayers Rock) is special. as Bill Bryson points out in In a Sunburned Country, it’s one of the most distinctive features of our planet. Aliens could use it as a landmark. Beyond that, I just really want to see Australia. In fact, if I could live anywhere I wanted to, it would probably be Australia.
  • Reykjavik: I don’t know why, but I’ve always wanted to go to Iceland. Reykjavik is the obvious destination. It’s a small, very attractive city in a small, very attractive country. I don’t know about winter, because short winter days really start to bother me after a while, but it’d be a great place to spend a summer!
  • Chawton: I know. What’s so great about Chawton? Where is Chawton? Well, it’s a small English village in Hampshire. It’s claim to fame is Chawton cottage, the house Jane Austen lived in for the last eight years of her life. I’m a huge Jane Austen fan, and would give just about anything to see it.
  • Istanbul: The crossroads of Asia and Europe. As Byzantium, the capitol of the Byzantine empire. There’s just so much history and culture here you could spend years and never take it all in. From the Hagia Sophia to the Golden Horn, there’s so much to see and do I wouldn’t know where to begin. But I’d love to try.
  • Cape Town: South Africa is another country I’d like to see, and Cape Town would be my choice of places to see it from. It’s the center of the Afrikaans language in South Africa, as well as an attractive city in a great location. 

So there you are. Those are my ten places I love even though I’ve never been there. If you have  places you’ve always wanted to go to, let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

