Hollywould?

Hollywood

Hollywood

I’ll admit. I don’t watch a lot of movies anymore. There’s probably lots of reasons. It’s too expensive to go to the theater, I don’t have as much time anymore, I would rather read a book than watch it, you get the idea. But overall, one reason stands out: No one is making the movies that I want to see. I know, it’s a pretty common complaint, and public tastes change. I shouldn’t expect the film industry to spend millions making movies that appeal to me. But that’s the way it is. So what movies do I like?

I like comedies. Some of my favorites include A Shot in the Dark with Peter Sellers and Elke Sommer; The Producers (either version, the original with Zero Mostel, or the new one with Nathan Lane); Young Frankenstein; and, of course, What’s Up, Doc? with Barbra Streisand and Ryan O’Neal.

I love classic musicals. These they just don’t make anymore. I suspect that they’re just too expensive and don’t interest enough people, but this is really my all-time favorite category of films. Movies like The Wizard of Oz with Judy Garland; the great Singin’ in the Rain with Debbie Reynolds; Oklahoma!The King and IMy Fair LadyThe Sound of MusicA Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the ForumVictor/VictoriaWhite ChristmasPlease Don’t Eat the DaisiesThe Rocky Horror Picture Show. The last popular musical that I really liked was Hairspray.

Those are my two big categories. There are other movies I have really enjoyed. The first Star WarsRaiders of the Lost ArkNights of Cabiria (a personal favorite); and, of course, the widely disliked Xanadu, with Olivia Newton-John. There really are quite a few movies that I enjoy watching, again and again. Just nothing made recently. So tell me, what are some of your favorite films?

2 thoughts on “Hollywould?

  1. Hi, blog hopping from Twitter. 🙂 I love the Indiana Jones series. I love Seven. I love Sixth Sense, too. There’s a lot of great movies to like but I guess we all have our preferences which may or may not pass each others’ palate. 🙂 I have to agree, though, that lately, the movies are just a repeat or a remake of the previous ones and that’s when the thought of watching a movie is not really worth a thing to do when you’re bored.

    • Greg says:

      Thanks for stopping by! You’re absolutely right, not everyone is going to like the same films. These are just ones I like, and not even all of them. And it does seem like there’s a lot of remakes these days, and not very good ones.

Leave a Reply

